A sacred space in which to write

imageVirginia Woolf famously said that one should have a room of one’s own in which to write.   I couldn’t agree more.  There is nothing like a special place in which to write.  When it comes to soul writing, let’s think about creating a sacred space.

Soul writing is all about becoming comfortable speaking to your deepest inner self and opening up to the divine, however you define that.  It’s hard to achieve that level of subconscious thought if you are trying to write in a cluttered, noisy environment.

image
Singing Bowl

If you can dedicate a room in your home to be your writing space, then you are truly blessed.  I imagine for most of us, that’s a little difficult.  So think about what space you can use to create a safe and comfortable cocoon in which to write.

My office has to double as my work place for my day job.  Since I work from home, my desk holds my work laptop and my personal one.  To be able to write freely, I have to distance myself from work.  I’ve cleared a shelf where I can store my laptop so that I’m not distracted with thoughts of to-do lists and tomorrow’s meetings.

So when you find or create a personal space, what else can you do to fill it with inspiration, to calm you and allow spirit to move through you?  Candles?  Soft lighting?  Incense?  Gentle music?  A small fountain?  Inspirational art?  How about a small rug or meditation pillow?

image
Goddess of Compassion

I can’t keep all my special items on my desk, so they live on the shelf beside me.  When I want to create my space, I bring in my little candles and my statue of Kuan Yin, the Chinese goddess of Compassion.  I don’t follow any religion, but I like Kuan Yin’s story and what she represents.  Compassion.  Before I start my writing I always touch her as a reminder to treat myself with compassion.  I’ll play my singing bowl a little, just to draw my mind inward.  Then I’m ready to write.

You can create a temporary space just like this, with things you bring to set your writing stage and then put away.  If that isn’t possible, and you have no private space, then treat yourself to a good set of headphones and play some soothing music to create the illusion of peaceful space.  You’ll be glad you did.

What would you put in your sacred space?  If you are willing to share pictures, that would be wonderful.  Post a blog and put a link to it here.  We’d love to see it.

 

3 thoughts on “A sacred space in which to write

  1. A photo of my husband and our dog, the Celtic cross a friend sent from Ireland, the little “wisdom” figurine my cousin gave me when I got my master’s, lots of pillows, some fancy pens (I like to write out my crappy first draft in longhand), and I’ll need some kind of music, but I’m not sure what…

    Like

Share your thoughts....